FAHZU Rheumatology Department was founded since 1998. It's one of the earliest rheumatology specialties in Zhejiang province, which is also the national rheumatology specialist training center. The Rheumatology Department consists of one senior physician, two associate senior physicians and seven fellow physicians, sets up routine clinics with annual clinic amount exceeds 50000. Specialty clinics such as Ankylosing spondylitis, Sjogren syndrome, gout and musculoskeletal clinic are established routinely. Physicians expertise in early diagnosis and systemic treatment of rheumatic diseases, especially systemic lupus erythematosus, rheumatoid arthritis, Sjogren syndrome, polymyositis/dermatomyositis, systemic sclerosis, mixed connective tissue disease, adult onset Still's disease, systemic vasculitis, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, rheumatic fever, ankylosing spondylitis, reactive arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, osteoarthritis, and gout. 

The department has good cooperative relationships with domestic and oversea well-known rheumatology centers such as John Hopkins hospital and Hershey medical center, Penn State University. The department have organized a variety of lectures on rheumatic diseases and established a long-term follow-up system for rheumatic disease patients. In recent years, the department has participated in more than 20 science research programs about systemic lupus erythematosus, rheumatoid arthritis and seronegative spondyloarthropathies, contains two grants from national natural science foundation of China and has published over 60 original research articles in domestic and international journals.

The department is responsible for rheumatology training for medical students, continuing education students, foreign visiting medical students, postgraduate students and residents. The department also recruits rheumatology and immunology postgraduate. The department has been accepted by national rheumatic specialist physician training program and is the rheumatology continuing education base in Zhejiang province.